Putting the Z back into a 1985 Z-28

Discussion in 'Projects' started by Cameretom, Jan 9, 2022.

1. Cameretom

This is how I bought it in 2019 IMG_1366.jpg #ad

It came with a complete brand new interior still in the box, new control arms and a panhard bar w/poly, good Hedman Hedders already installed among lots of other parts. Although the front nose was off it, the car did start and run and we drove it on the trailer.

My background is as an engine machinist. I have every assembly tool and measuring tool to tear down and re-assemble any North American classic V-8. I've worked on engines as big as Waukeshau 7042 (thats 7042 cu.in. for those unfamiliar with them) and WS 8G 825s (825 cu.in. per cylinder x 8!) through all HD truck diesels.
    Of course as a grass roots street/trip guy I don't know how many classic V-8s like Chev/Dodge/Ford/Ponch/Buick/Olds etc engines I've done the machine work on and/or assembeld. I have also "built" at least 30 or so Drags and Oval Track over the years as in I did the math, selcted the parts and "built" the engine as opposed to just putting some guys parts together. A couple were for me!

I overhauled a 302 and flipped an 85' Ford Mustang a couple of years ago.
    However I'm immensely proud of the 1974' Camaro I bought and built for street/strip about 20 years ago. I dragged it until they closed our Calgary Alberta Drag Strip in 2011. It was a super fun and ridiculously reliable 11.5 second driver (3000 feet above sea level ET) 115 MPH and 1.56 60foots if track conditions were good. 350 passes and never once failed to make the pass! Drove it there and back every time.
    02 74 Camaro driver side from front smallest.jpg 03 74 Camaro 406 smallest.jpg DSC01131.JPG

The 406 in that one ran AFR 195E heads TH 350 and 4.11s in a 10 bolt with home made Caltracs. I spent tons of time and effort on suspension and shocks and it had frame connectors.